2014 GAME: Aerial Assist

THE ROBOT: OM-NOM, the Devourer

robot 2014, black bkgrd

  • Drive Train
    • 25.5 x 30 in frame
    • two omni wheels for improved maneuverability
    • achieves speed of 17 fps
    • cimple gear boxes with double cims on each modified to work with a hex shaft
  • Catapult
    • Throwing into goal 15 feet away
    • two mini-tough boxes with 12:1 gear ratio
    • stationary shaft with bearing hub
    • bent steel catapult arm
  • Pick up system
    • rubber wedge top tread on roller
    • driven by mini-cim with custom gears
    • two pneumatic cylinders control the retractable frame


  • Central Illinois – February 7 – March 1, 2014, Pekin, IL
    After qualifying rounds, ranked 17 out of 40. Chosen for alliance by 7th seed team.
    Finished as a Regional Finalist.
  • Wisconsin Regional – March 20 – 22, 2014, 2014, Milwaukee, WI
    After qualifying rounds ranked 48 out of 60. Chosen for alliance by 1st seed team.
    Finished as Regional Semi-Finalist.


  • Central Illinois Regional Finalist
    This award celebrates the team or alliance that makes it to the final match of the competition.




Elijah B, Mia B, Patrick B, Nate C, Brandon C, Johan C, Elijah C, Michael E, Graham E, Bailey H, Rebecca H, Carly K, Aaron K, Ben K, Tyler K, Andrew L, Kyle L, Addie L, Shawn M, Alex M, Emily M, Jeremy P, Benjamin P, Jacob P, Annika P, Kyle R, Levi S, Shayne T, Brenden T, Trevor W

High Schools Represented:
Auburn, Belvidere North, Boylan, Byron, Christian Life, East, Guilford, Harlem, Keith Country Day, Pecatonica, Rockford Christian, RVC/Project Lead the Way, Trinity Christian Academy, and several Home Schools

Graduating Seniors:
Eli B: Southern Illinois Univerisity, Electrical Engineering
Patrick B: University of Wisconsin, Platteville, Aeronautical Engineering
Andrew L*: Milwaukee School of Engineering, Electrical Engineering
Alex M: Michigan Technological University, Computer Engineering
Brenden T: University of Wisconsin, Platteville, Mechanical Engineering

*denotes FIRST Robotics Scholarship Recipient

Carol Arreguin, Maryann Brown, Terry Brown, Gabriel Cotto, Adam Czerwonka, Mary Johnson, Ken Lesko, Christina MaGee, Brad Masbruch, John McInerney, Trevor Nichols, Matthew Rhoades, Erich Roth, Jean Taylor, Eric Williams


Click on the albums below to see pictures.